Ekolu Kalama invited 4 Da Hui Backdoor Shootout in Memory of Duke Kahanamoku


The Annual Da Hui Backdoor Shootout will celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Duke Kahanamoku Invitational this year with the continuation of the renowned shortboard Team event, but with the addition of a prestigious Stand Up Paddle Invitational event that will see Hawaii’s leading lights step up to do battle out at the North Shore’s, and one of the World’s most infamous waves: Pipeline.

10 unique athletes have been chosen based on their ability to step up and take on the infamous Pipeline, but also as a result of their stature in islands and the celebration of Hawaiian surfing that this event provides.

Here are the 10 invited athletes:

  1. Ikaika Kalama (Big Island)
  2. Kai Lenny (Maui)
  3. Kainoa McGee (Oahu)
  4. Kolaiah Jardine (Big Island)
  5. Keali’i Mamala (Big Island)
  6. Ekolu Kalama (Moloka’i)
  7. Nolan Keaulana (Oahu)
  8. Mo Freitas (Oahu)
  9. Tehotu Wong (Tahiti)
  10. Bullet Obra (Big Island)

With a high surf advisory in effect for tomorrow, Wednesday 7th January, it looks likely that action will kick off at 8am, with the live broadcast brought to you by the Waterman League scheduled to go LIVE at 7:45am.

Make sure to join the event LIVE at


Info via Waterman League

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: